PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES ENABLING ACT 1990 No. 116

NEW SOUTH WALES



TABLE OF PROVISIONS

- 1. Short title
- 2. Commencement
- 3. Power to function for an extended period

SCHEDULE 1—COMMITTEES

PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES ENABLING ACT 1990

No. 116

NEW SOUTH WALES



Act No. 116, 1990

An Act to enable certain Committees of the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly to function during the prorogation of Parliament and during the fourth session of the forty-ninth Parliament. [Assented to 18 December 1990]

The Legislature of New South Wales enacts:

Short title

1. This Act may be cited as the parliamentary Committees Enabling Act 1990.

Commencement

2. This Act commences on the date of assent.

Power to function for an extended period

- 3. (1) It is hereby declared that the Parliamentary Committees mentioned in Schedule 1 may:
 - (a) lawfully sit during the period commencing on the termination of the third session of the forty-ninth Parliament and ending on the termination of the fourth session of that Parliament; and
 - (b) lawfully do during that period all such things as they might lawfully have done had the third session of that Parliament continued throughout that period.
- (2) Nothing in subsection (1) is to affect or alter any power of the Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly, and it is hereby declared that the operation of that subsection is subject to any such power and the exercise of that power.

SCHEDULE 1—COMMITTEES

(Sec. 3)

Committees of the Legislative Council

Standing Orders Committee.

Library Committee.

House Committee.

Printing Committee.

Select Committee on Resources of the Legislative Council.

Select Committee upon Means of Improving the Police Positional Promotion System.

SCHEDULE 1—COMMITTEES—continued

Committees of the Legislative Assembly

Standing Orders and Procedure Committee. Library Committee. House Committee. Printing Committee.

Joint Committees

Joint Select Committee upon the Process and Funding of the Electoral System.

[Minister's second reading speech made in— Legislative Assembly on 28 November 1990 Legislative Council on 4 December 1990]