PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEES ENABLING ACT, 1983, No. 65

New South Wales



ANNO TRICESIMO SECUNDO

ELIZABETHÆ II REGINÆ

Act No. 65, 1983.

An Act to enable certain Committees of the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly to function during the prorogation of Parliament and during the fourth session of the forty-seventh Parliament. [Assented to, 4th May, 1983.]

Parliamentary Committees Enabling.

BE it enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly of New South Wales in Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—

Short title.

1. This Act may be cited as the "Parliamentary Committees Enabling Act, 1983".

Power to function for an extended period.

- 2. (1) It is hereby declared that the Parliamentary Committees mentioned in Schedule 1 may—
 - (a) lawfully sit during the period commencing on the termination of the third session of the forty-seventh Parliament and ending on the termination of the fourth session of that Parliament; and
 - (b) lawfully do during that period all such things as they might lawfully have done had the third session of that Parliament continued throughout that period.
- (2) Nothing in subsection (1) shall affect or alter any power of the Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly, and it is hereby declared that the operation of that subsection is subject to any such power and the exercise thereof.

Parliamentary Committees Enabling.

SCHEDULE 1.

(Sec. 2.)

Committee of Subordinate Legislation, a resolution for the appointment of which was, on 25th November, 1981, agreed to by the Legislative Council. Standing Orders and Procedure Committee, a resolution for the appointment of which was, on 10th November, 1981, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly. Joint Committee, a resolution for the appointment of which was, on 2nd December, 1981, agreed to by the Legislative Council and, on 3rd December, 1981, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly. Joint Committee, a resolution for the appointment of which was, on 3rd November, 1982, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly and, on 9th November, 1982, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly and, on 9th November, 1982, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly and, on 9th November, 1982, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly and, on 9th November, a resolution for the appointment of which was, on 30th March, 1983, agreed to by the Legislative Assembly.